A group of KMS 7th graders recently attended the Kentucky Youth Assembly (KYA) conference in Louisville. KYA is a student-led conference in which students serve as part of a model state government. Students actively participate in all levels of state government from governor to clerk and representative. KYA offers students the opportunity to learn about a wide variety of issues, develop critical thinking skills, and share their beliefs while engaging constructively with their peers from around the Commonwealth. 

This year, Abby Sears, an MCSH 9th grader, served her term as President of the Senate. She was elected to this position last year as an 8th grader. Delaney Moore, KMS 7th grader, served as her clerk. Moore explained, “My favorite part about KYA was getting to learn about all the different bills that people came up with and thought were good ideas. I also like that we got a say and got to vote on different things.” 

Bill sponsors this year were Will Dean, Mijaia Dunn, Alex Moore and Davis Tyler. The students presented a bill to mandate vision tests for KY drivers 55 and over when renewing driver’s licenses. After some questions and engaging pro/con debates, the bill passed the student house after the chair declared division and a head count was done. In the senate, a similar situation occurred and after a second head count, the bill passed. The students were ecstatic! Will Dean commented, “My favorite part of KYA was being part of a large collective of people who respected my ideas.”

On the final morning, awards were presented. Delaney Moore received the delegate award and the bill sponsors received certificates for having their bill passed. The group also received the Premier Delegation award for their participation and accomplishments. The delegation was led by Shelli Engler and Katie King, gifted/talented resource teachers.



Photo:  KMS 7th graders represented the district well at the Middle School KYA conference in Louisville. (L to R, back) Noah Nichols, Davis Tyler, Phoenix Yates, Izzie Carlton. (L to R, front) Will Dean, Brady Payton, Mijaia Dunn, Alex Moore, Delaney Moore.

KMS students at KYA2021